Sebastian Vettel on the rally: “Great enjoyable” / Formula 1

Retired Formula 1 star Sebastian Vettel spoke about his love for rallying at a press convention at the opening of the Race of Champions in Pit Havsbad, Sweden.


Sebastian Vettel marked his retirement from Formula 1 final 12 months in Abu Dhabi, however the four-time world champion is much from saying goodbye to racing. This 12 months he’s once more collaborating in the Champions competitors, which he has participated in ten instances. The interdisciplinary enjoyable competitors is happening for the second time in Pit Havsbad on the frozen Baltic Sea in Sweden.

Like final 12 months, he’ll battle for the German nationwide crew in the Cup of Nations with Mick Schumacher. The duo’s first opponent can be Jamie Chadwick and David Coulthard from Great Britain. Vettel can even be there in the particular person race, the place he’ll face Chadwick in the spherical of 18. His team-mate Schumacher is one in every of 4 contributors chosen to take part in the preliminary spherical by lot. He ought to face Felix Rosenqvist.

Vettel expressed his love for the rally at the opening press convention. When requested the related query, the 53-time GP winner, who raced in shorts and a shirt in the freezing chilly morning, stated: “I look as much as rally drivers as a result of they’ve nice expertise. , it is nice enjoyable. This provides us just a little perception into rally driving. But I really feel like I got here right here with a screwdriver and a hammer, and the rally guys have a full toolbox and everybody has a software.”

“Rallying is a superb sport,” enthuses the man from Heppenheim. “And the rally scene does not have the proper temper. “Although the sport is fashionable in the North, I feel it deserves to be very talked-about throughout the world.” He didn’t rule out that he would take part in the parade himself: “It could be loads of work, however who is aware of if I’ll be itching to get again on the monitor after some time. It would positively be one thing fully totally different from what we’re used to, so it could be a giant problem.”

The race of champions is the winners

1988 Monlheri (F): Juha Kankkunen (FIN)
1989 Nürburgring (D): Stig Blomqvist (C)
1990 Barcelona (S): Stig Blomqvist (S)
1991 Madrid (Country): Juha Kankkunen (FIN)
1992 Gran Canaria (E): Andrea Agini (I)
1993 Gran Canaria (E): Didier Oriol (F)
1994 Gran Canaria (E): Didier Oriol (F)
1995 Gran Canaria (E): Francois Delecourt (F)
1996 Gran Canaria (E): Didier Oriol (F)
1997 Gran Canaria (E): Carlos Sainz (E)
1998 Gran Canaria (E): Colin McRae (GB)
1999 Gran Canaria (E): Didier Oriol (F)
2000 Gran Canaria (E): Tommy Makinen (FIN)
2001 Gran Canaria (E): Harry Rovanpera (FIN)
2002 Gran Canaria (E): Marcus Gronholm (FIN)
2003 Gran Canaria (E): Sebastian Loeb (F)
2004 Paris (W): Heikki Kovalainen (FIN)
2005 Paris (F): Sebastian Loeb (F)
2006 Paris (West): Matthias Ekström (O)
2007 London (UK): Matthias Ekström (C)
2008 London UK: Sebastian Loeb (F)
2009 Beijing (CHN): Matthias Ekström (C)
2010 Dusseldorf (D): Filipe Albuquerque (P)
2011 Dusseldorf (D): Sebastian Ogier (F)
2012 Bangkok (T): Romain Grosjean (F)
Not carried out in 2013
2014 Barbados (BDS): David Coulthard (Great Britain)
2015 London: Sebastian Vettel (D)
Not carried out in 2016
2017 Miami (USA): Juan Pablo Montoya (COL)
2018 Riyadh (QSA): David Coulthard (Great Britain)
2019 Mexico City (MEX): Benito Guerra (MEX)
The 2020 occasion is digital as eSports
There can be no Champions League in 2021
2022 Piet Havsbad (W): Sebastian Loeb (W)

National winners

1999 Finland (Makinen, Lehto, Tiainen)
2000 France (Laconi, Muller, Panizzi)
2001 Spain (Puras, House, Alonso)
2002 USA (Johnson, Gordon, Edwards)
2003 All Stars (Nieto, da Matta, Panizzi)
2004 France (Alesi, Leb)
2005 Scandinavia (Christensen, Ekstrom)
2006 Finland (Kovalainen, Gronholm)
2007 Germany (Schumacher, Vettel)
2008 Germany (Schumacher, Vettel)
2009 Germany (Schumacher, Vettel)
2010 Germany (Schumacher, Vettel)
2011 Germany (Schumacher, Vettel)
2012 Germany (Schumacher, Vettel)
2014 Team Nordic (Christensen, Solberg)
2015 England 1 (Priaulx, Plato)
2017 Germany (Vettel, Wehrlein)
2018 Germany (Bernhard, Rast)
2019 Team Nordic (Kristoffersson, Kristensen)
The 2020 occasion is digital as eSports
There can be no Champions League in 2021
2022 Norway (Solberg, Solberg)


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *